| Nov 01, 2007

Feature Article - November 1, 2007.class { BORDER-RIGHT: black 1pt solid; BORDER-TOP: #000 1pt solid; BORDER-LEFT: black 1pt solid; BORDER-BOTTOM: black 1pt solid } .class1 { BORDER-RIGHT: #9f5128 1pt solid; BORDER-TOP: #9f5128 1pt solid; BORDER-LEFT: #9f5128 1pt solid; BORDER-BOTTOM: #9f5128 1pt solid } .class2 { FONT-SIZE: 8pt; COLOR: #666 }

Back toHome

Feature Article - November 1, 2007

2007 Sydenham 8 km Raceby Derek Spafford

Registration continues to grow each year with 167 runners and walkers signed up to race. The quality of competition was certainly very high too, as shown by the fast times recorded. This beautiful 8km course runs along the north shore of Sydenham Lake with 75% of the race on the Cataraqui Trail.


Taylor Murphy, originally from Napanee but currently residing in Guelph, won the men’s race in a very quick 25:08. Taylor is sponsored by Saucony and competes for the Speed River Club. He has also represented Canada at international competitions. Paul Chafe was second in the men’s race in a time of 25:57. Paul is originally from Sydenham and was a bronze medalist in the 2005 CIS Canadian Cross Country Championships. Third place went to marathoner Kevin Beatty in a time of 26:29.

The women’s race also had some very strong performances. Kim Bowerman, also from Guelph, won the women’s race in a very solid 33:05. Second place went to C.J. Best in 33:39, followed by Deborah Berry in 35:14. Our top male masters runner (40+) was Colin Wilkinson in 29:30, while Joyce Acton won the women’s masters competition in 39:07.

The first place male and female each picked up $100 cash for their race wins. Second and third place overall were each awarded merchandise awards from our sponsors. The top male and female masters competitors also won merchandise awards.

A huge thank you to all our wonderful sponsors and a very special thank you to all the volunteers who helped out to make this such a great day.

Proceeds from the Sydenham Fall 8km will benefit the Parr Christie Singers.

Support local
independant journalism by becoming a patron of the Frontenac News.